2010 Laurel Awards

The results of this years ‘all-time best futurists’ as voted upon by Foresight Network Members are in. They are in no particular order: Alvin Toffler, Ray Kurzweil, Richard Slaughter, and Sohail Inayatullah. There was a draw for third place so we have not split hairs and recommended to the FN Board that we accept four new Laurel Awards. Sincere appreciation to you all for your mega contributions.

The biographies of the four new recipients will shortly appear on the Foresight Network website. They join Hazel Henderson, Jim Dator and Joe Coates who were the first recipients in 2009 and Richard “Bucky” Buckminster Fuller (1895-1983), Herman Kahn (1922-1983), Donella Meadows (1941-2001), Jules Verne (1828-1905), H G (Herbert George) Wells (1866-1946) who were given posthumous Lifetime Achievement Awards by the Board this year.

In early December I was surprised and honoured to receive the above message from the Foresight Network of the on-line Futures community, Shaping Tomorrow.* Several weeks later I’m still not quite sure what to say except a profound ‘thank you.’ I think it was Fabienne Goux-Baudiment who wrote a short piece a few years ago about the difficulties of being a Futurist / Foresight practitioner. You basically do what you do because you believe in it, heart and soul, not because you expect any thanks, rewards or prizes. So it is a rare pleasure to know that one’s peers have seen fit to award this honour and I thank each of those who took part

* http://shapingtomorrowmain.ning.com/